Things I Dont Like: Spaghetti Squash

30 Jan

Ya know, I try to be all healthy and active 24/7. And even though I have some major food aversions (ask my family about green beans), I do try to cook new recipes and give food at least a fighting chance to impress me. It’s no surprise that with this Paleo and Gluten Free craze hitting dieters that I would eventually stumble upon the miracle food that is [allegedly] spaghetti squash.

I got excited for it. I pre-wrote a blog on how it changed my life, and that I was giving up my carb-loaded Italian ways. I pinned at least four recipes. I proudly tracked it before I ate it. I spoke about it with my coworker (who swore it was amazing…). I WAS READY.

And then I ate it.

Ohmygod I hate all of you. What BS you have sold me, internet world (+ coworker)! Sure, it looks like ramen noodles. But all I tasted was a “pasta” bowl of lies.

This is what I get for expecting too much of my vegetables. You think I would have learned my lesson when I tried the ever popular recipe for cauliflower “popcorn.” But no, I fall in to the “let’s make veggies taste like actual food” agenda. and I end up getting brokenhearted when my 3lb squash still tastes like 3lbs of softer squash.

LIES! (picture from: http://steamykitchen.com)

I will never forget this kitchen tragedy (probably because there was like 3lbs of leftovers and I am still finding little strands of squash on my dog’s paws).

3 Responses to “Things I Dont Like: Spaghetti Squash”

  1. Brendan Diamond (@CosmoFurthur) January 30, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

    I dunno… I liked it well enough… Tasted like creamy angel hair pasta. Once it was flavored up enough, mind…

  2. Robby February 6, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    My trick with Spaghetti Squash is to sautee it and really dry it out.

    • ohmybears48 February 6, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

      If I get the nerve to try this again, I will try sautee-ing it. It was a bit too liquidy for my taste, so maybe that will help. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

